Skip to main content

Honolulu-Based Board-Certified Plastic Surgeon, Clyde H. Ishii, MD, Named New President of American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery

New Board Members Elected at the 2017 Annual Aesthetic Meeting

San Diego, CA (May 2, 2017) – The American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery (ASAPS) today announced the election of Clyde H. Ishii, MD, a board-certified plastic surgeon operating a private practice in Honolulu, as its new President at The Aesthetic Meeting 2017. The Aesthetic Society is the leading professional organization devoted entirely to aesthetic plastic surgery and cosmetic medicine of the face and body, comprised of over 2,600 board-certified plastic surgeons.

In addition to his role as ASAPS President, Dr. Ishii has served on ASAPS’ Board of Directors and has been an integral contributing member on multiple ASAPS committees including Finance and Investments, Residents and Fellows Forum Subcommittee, Medical Students committee, New Member Committee, Residents Blog Subcommittee, Program committee, Teaching Course subcommittee, Webinar subcommittee, Future Leaders committee, Traveling Professor Program, International Visiting Fellow Program, Publications Committee, Industry Policy Committee, Conflict of Interest Committee, Product Development Committee and the Women’s Aesthetic Surgery Committee. Dr. Ishii is also an active participant with the Society’s research arm, the Aesthetic Surgery Education and Research Foundation and served as ASAPS’ Membership Commissioner between 2010 and 2013. Dr. Ishii is currently the Chief of Plastic Surgery at Honolulu Shriners Hospital and has been in private practice in Honolulu since 1986. He has presented and published numerous papers on the many nuanced facets of Asian facial cosmetic surgery.

Dr. Ishii’s tenure as President of ASAPS will include engaging younger plastic surgeons and residents in the organization, addressing the ongoing needs of our members in their practices, pursuing the Society’s data bank offerings to enhance the information we offer our members and the public at-large, establishing relationships with plastic surgery organizations abroad, and working with other plastic surgery organizations for mutual benefit.

“I am confident that Dr. Ishii will serve the Society in marked ways that will have a lasting impact by utilizing his expertise in relationship-building and diplomacy, as well as his finely tuned research and plastic surgery practice skills,” notes Daniel D. Mills, MD, Immediate Past-President of ASAPS.   

“It is a distinct honor to assume the role of President of The Aesthetic Society. I look forward to continuing to work with my peers, the top, board-certified aesthetic plastic surgeons in the industry, to grow the Society’s membership and to continue our mission of patient safety and education,” states Dr. Ishii.  

Other newly named Aesthetic Society officers serving on ASAPS’ Executive Committee are as follows:

President-Elect: W. Grant Stevens, MD of Los Angeles, CA. An Aesthetic Society member since 1994, Dr. Stevens is the medical director of Marina Plastic Surgery.  Dr. Stevens is a clinical professor of surgery at the University of Southern California division of plastic & reconstructive surgery, the director of the USC  Marina Del Rey Aesthetic Surgery Fellowship, and the director of the USC Aesthetic Surgery division. He is an active member at Marina Del Rey Hospital, where he served as chairman of the department of surgery. He is also the past chairman of the liposuction committee and the past co-director of the breast center. He now serves as the current Chairman of Industry Relations for ASAPS. He was appointed by the governor to the Medical Board of California medical quality review board, and is currently the Co-National Secretary and Third Vice President of the International Society of Aesthetic Plastic Surgery.

Dr. Stevens also serves on the Editorial Board for the Aesthetic Surgery Journal.

Vice President: Charles H. Thorne, MD of New York, NY. An Aesthetic Society Member since 1996, Dr. Thorne is in private practice in New York City. Dr. Thorne is Chairman of the Department of Plastic Surgery at Lenox Hill Hospital and Manhattan Eye, Ear and Throat Hospital and is a tenured professor at NYU. He has served on the American Board of Plastic Surgery and was elected Chair of the board in 2014-2015. Dr. Thorne has served as the Cosmetic Section Editor of the Journal of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, as Editor-in-Chief of the Grabb and Smith Plastic Surgery Textbook, Chief of Plastic Surgery at Bellevue Hospital, Director of the NYU Plastic Surgery residency program and was president of the Northeastern Society of Plastic Surgeons in 2003. 

Treasurer: Herluf G. Lund Jr., MD of St. Louis, MO has been a member of The Aesthetic Society since 2000.  Dr. Lund is President of St. Louis Cosmetic Surgery, a four-member plastic surgical group in private practice specializing in aesthetic surgery and cosmetic medicine. Dr. Lund has served as a Councilor, the Treasurer and the Secretary for the St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society.  He is a past-president of the Missouri Association of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons and the Washington University Medical Center Alumni Association.  Dr. Lund completed his plastic surgery residency at Washington University School of Medicine where he was actively involved in numerous research projects including the safety and design of implants for both breast augmentation and breast reconstruction.

Secretary: William P. Adams, Jr., MD of Dallas, Texas has been a member of The Aesthetic Society since 2002. He is in private practice and is also an Associate Clinical Professor of Plastic Surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center and Past President of ASERF (Aesthetic Society Education and Research Foundation), and  current ASAPS Program Chair. In 2009, he founded and currently serves as the President and Chief Medical Officer for The Plastic Surgery Channel, a multi-media company and information source for plastic surgery operated by plastic surgeons. He has published numerous papers and has presented multiple plastic surgery lectures on the international level. He also serves on the breast editorial board of Aesthetic Surgery Journal and Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery.

Media Contacts

[email protected]
(562) 799-2356

About The Aesthetic Society

The American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery, is recognized as the world's leading organization devoted entirely to aesthetic plastic surgery and cosmetic medicine of the face and body. The Aesthetic Society is comprised of over 3,000 Plastic Surgeons; Active Members are certified by the American Board of Plastic Surgery (USA) or by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and have extensive training in the complete spectrum of surgical and nonsurgical aesthetic procedures. International Active Members are certified by equivalent boards of their respective countries. All members worldwide adhere to a strict Code of Ethics and must meet stringent membership requirements.

We Are Aesthetics